Hall of Fame Rules Points Results Schedule Home Contact Track Info Follow Us on Twitter! Like Us on Facebook! Visit Our Instagram Page!
Click for Driver Registration Form! Twitter Facebook Instagram
Hall of FameHomeScheduleResultsPointsRulesTrack InfoContact

Hunt the Front Super Dirt Series Makes First Visit April 27

Click to Enlarge!(April 16, 2024) Super late model racing returns to Smoky Mountain Speedway on Saturday, April 27 when the Hunt The Front Super Dirt Series makes their first visit. The $15,000 to win race is expected to draw plenty of big names. In only its second season, the Hunt The Front Super Dirt Series has made an impact on racing in the Southeast. Over a dozen drivers committed to running the whole series for 2024.

Brandon Overton leads the series point standings heading to Smoky Mountain Speedway. Chris Ferguson is only 18 points behind in second and Loudon’s Cory Hedgecock sits 28 points out of first in third. Other series regulars include Sam Seawright, Joseph Joiner, Trey Mills, Josh Putnam, Zack Mitchell, Tyler Millwood, Will Herington, Jackson Hise, Cla Knight, Josh Henry, Cameron Weaver, and Caden Mullinax. Other expected drivers include Scott Bloomquist, Dale McDowell, Carson Ferguson, Ashton Winger, Ricky Weiss, Jensen Ford, Mack McCarter, and others from the region.

Also racing on April 27 will be sportsman late models for $800 to win, street stocks for $700 to win, and front wheel drive cars for $500 to win. All gates will open at 2:00. The driver’s meeting will take place at 6:00 followed by hot laps and racing at 6:30. Grandstand ticket prices are $35 for adults for general admission. Reserved grandstand tickets are $40. Tier parking tickets are $45 for adults. Reserved tier parking is $50 per person. Pit passes are $45 for adults. Pit reserved tickets are $50. Tickets for kids 11 and under are $5 everywhere.

Media credentials application can be found at www.SmokyMountainSpeedway.com. The deadline to submit a request is Wednesday, April 24.

Russell Erwin Dominates for Steel Block Bandits Win

(April 13, 2024) Russell Erwin dominated the Rockin’ With The Stars Vision Wheel Steel Block Bandits race on Saturday night. Erwin took the initial lead from pole sitter Blake Craft. Craft gave chase to Erwin before Erwin pulled away for a sizeable lead. Rusty Ballenger would take second from Craft past the halfway point of the race. As the leader got into slower traffic, Ballenger tracked down Erwin. Ballenger cut the lead to car lengths as Erwin got caught behind two cars racing for position at the end of the lead lap. Ballenger could not take advantage as Erwin stretched the lead back out to five car lengths at the finish line. Craft held off Tyler Bare for third and Tyler Arrington finished fifth. (MRM Racing Photo)

The sportsman late model feature got off to a rowdy start. It took three attempts to get the feature under way. One of the attempted starts saw pole sitter Dustin Ward and Jake Whitehead made contact on turn 2. Others were involved with Ward receiving significant body damage. Both Ward and Whitehead were able to continue. Once under way, Ward shot out to the lead over Whitehead. On a lap 5 restart, Whitehead made a bid for the lead only to see Ward hold onto the lead on the back straightaway. Whitehead took advantage of a lap 15 restart to finally pull alongside Ward for the lead. Whitehead took the lead as the field raced into turn 3. Whitehead went on for the win. Michael Courtney finished second, Tyler Price rallied for 8th starting spot to finish third. Ward fell to fourth and Chandler Hickman finished fifth. | full results

Skip Arp Among Opening Night Winners

(March 30, 2024) Skip Arp came from the outside front row to win the Mountain Late Model feature on opening night at Smoky Mountain Speedway. Arp took the lead over Layne Clifton to win the 25-lap feature. Terry Poore came from the 5th starting spot to finish third. (Travis Haston Photo)

Michael Courtney got the lead over Colby Horner to win the sportsman late model feature. Adam Mitchell would get by Horner to finish second. Austin Atkins outdueled Robby Comer to get the street stock win. Eric Hughes passed Comer to finish second. Comer finished third.

Dustin Duncan dominated the front wheel drive feature. Travis Weeks grabbed second while Travis Taylor could come home in third. Johnny Grooms came from 4th starting spot to win the crown vic feature. Grooms took the lead from Troy Davenport in getting the win. Coby Scott was the third place finisher. The next race at Smoky Mountain Speedway will be Saturday, April 13 when the Vision Wheel Steel Block Bandits visit for the $3,000 to win race. Sportsman late models, street stocks, and front wheel drives will also be racing. | full results

2024 Schedule for Smoky Mountain Speedway Released

(December 30, 2023) With 2024 just hours away, we wanted to give you the first look at the 2024 Smoky Mountain Speedway schedule. More information on classes, purses, tickets prices, and other details are being finalized and we’ll have those official details released in the coming days. Mark these dates on your calendar and come see us at The Mountain in 2024!

March 2nd & 3rd - Monster Trucks
March 16th - Test & Tune
March 23rd - Test & Tune
March 30th - Season Opening Saturday Night Shootout
April 13th - Steel Block Bandit Late Models
April 27th - Hunt the Front Super Late Models $15,000 to win
May 3rd & 4th - Rodeo
May 11th - Mothers Day Weekend Special; Ladies Night at the Races
May 25th - Saturday Night Shootout + Cumberland Plateau Open Wheels
June 1st - Saturday Night Shootout
June 14th - Lucas Oil Late Models $10,000 to win
June 15th - Lucas Oil Late Models $50,000 to win
June 29th - Car Load Night (Load up the car and come to the races!)
July 20th - Topless Outlaw Late Models
July 27th - Saturday Night Shootout
August 24th - Saturday Night Shootout
August 31st - Saturday Night Shootout + Cumberland Plateau Open Wheel Modified Series
September 14th - Season Finale/Hall of Fame & 60th Anniversary Race

Reserve Your Camping Spot for Mountain Moonshine

Camping(December 19, 2023) Reserved camping is now available for Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series "Mountain Moonshine” - June 14 & 15. You can check in to your site as early as Wednesday, June 12th at 9:00AM and stay through the weekend. NO HOOKUPS, Dry Camping only!

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series $10,000 to win (6/14/2024)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series $50,000 to win (6/15/2024)
Reserved Weekend Camping (Campers/RV): $50.00
Reserved Weekend Camping (Tent): $30.00
ATV/Golf Cart Weekend Pass: $25.00

To reserve camping spots, please call: 865-257-1515 or email dirteater22@gmail.com.

Make Weekend Camping, ATV/Golf Cart Passes payable to Smoky Mountain Speedway & mail to:
Liz Walker
c/o Smoky Mountain Speedway
6719 Alkison Lane
Knoxville, TN 37931




HomeScheduleResultsPointsRulesTrack InfoContact
Hall of Fame

Click for Our Live Streamed Events! Hall of Fame Track Info Rules Points Results Schedule Home Contact Follow Us on Twitter! Like Us on Facebook! Visit Our Instagram Page! Delph Communications Twitter Facebook Instagram