Madden Masters NDRL-Tennessee Tip Off Night #2 at Smoky Mountain

By Chris Tilley, CT Marketing

MARYVILLE, TN (March 8, 2014)–Chris Madden likes Saturday night racing with the NDRL.

The Gray Court, SC driver took the lead from Billy Moyer Jr. on lap 44 to go on to win the National Dirt Racing League-sanctioned Tip Off Classic and $12,500 for the victory at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, TN a week after he won the Bama Bash at East Alabama. Madden drove the Century Plastics, Hamrick’s of Gaffney sponsored Clements powered Bloomquist Team Zero race car to the victory over hard-charging Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN who started tenth.

One caution flag slowed the race as Casey Roberts slowed on lap 13 in turn two.

Pole sitter Moyer Jr and Jonathan Davenport brought the field of 25 to life for the start of the 60-lapper with Moyer Jr jumping to the early lead. On the 14th lap Madden would take the second spot away from Davenport and take Scott Bloomquist with him for third. Davenport would drop to fourth after that restart.

Madden would look underneath Moyer for several laps but would become the factor and grab the lead away on the 44th circuit. Tenth starting Mike Marlar became the factor for second spot and would grab it away from Scott Bloomquist with five laps remaining. Lapped traffic would be enough to keep Marlar away from Madden as he went on to win his second NDRL event of the season picking up $29,517 in win money in less than a week.


NDRL FEATURE FINISH: Chris Madden, Mike Marlar, Scott Bloomquist, Jonathan Davenport, Billy Moyer Jr., Dale McDowell, Don O’Neal, Kent Robinson, Tommy Kerr, Skip Arp, Max Blair, Mason Zeigler, William Thomas, Chris Ferguson, Ray Cook, Steve Francis, Bub McCool, John Blankenship, Dennis Erb Jr., Mike Benedum, Tim Fuller, Billy Ogle Jr., Vic Hill, Casey Roberts, Billy Moyer

Entries: 38
Overall Fast Time: Scott Bloomquist-15:904 seconds
Heat Winners: Billy Moyer Jr., Dale McDowell, Chris Madden, Jonathan Davenport
Consey Winners: Ray Cook, William Thomas
Provisional Starters: Dennis Erb Jr., Bub McCool and Mike Benedum

CRATE LATE MODEL FINISH: Jimmy Elliott, Chris Wilson, Corey Hedge(not a nice word)(not a nice word)(not a nice word)(not a nice word), Adam Beeler, Jason Welshan, Craig Reese, Pierce McCarter, Brett Wyatt, Matt Henderson, Jason Deal, Robby Moses, Bryan Pritchard, Heath Alvey, Tom Smith, Warren McMahan, Greg Huskey, Michael Barnett, Derek Rogers, Brad Coffey, Greg Martin, Skimp Henry, Dustin Golden

SPORTSMAN: Heath Alvey, Drew Kennedy, Justin Beeler, Kip Sawyer, Tim Cooper, Austin Atkins, Joe Freels, Jonathan Sims, Jerry Hux, Brian Hooks, Josh Beal, James Kelso

Smoky Mountain Speedway, Next Race: Saturday March 29, 2014-Old Man’s Garage Spring Nationals Series $6,000 to win plus American Modified Series $3,000 to win