Smoky Mountain Speedway
Maryville, TN

Saturday, April 26th

Rockin’ with the Stars
presented by WIMZ Classic Rock 103.5 FM


1.  Billy Ogle, Jr. # 201
2.  Mike Marlar # 157
3.  Ray Cook # 53
4.  Riley Hickman # R1
5.  Dylan Ames # 77a
6.  Chad Ogle # 10
7.  David Payne # 8
8.  Mark Douglas # 52d
9.  Josh Putnam # 212
10.  Todd Morrow # T1
11.  Jeff Wolfenbarger # 28
12.  Bo Shirley # 111
13.  Robby Moses # 7
14.  Jeff Franklin # J12
15.  Sammie Russell # F4
16.  Dusty Carver # 9
17.  Lavon Sparks # 11
18.  Randy Weaver # 116
19.  Skylar Marlar # 257
20.  Skip Arp # 31
21.  Jason Welshan # 29
22.  Stacy Boles # 11b
23.  Chris Wilson # 10
24.  Tommy Kerr # 4t

Did Not Qualify:  David Seibers (18), Bobby Mays (25), Cale Finley (F36), Mark Gant (113)


1.  Cory Hedgecock # 23
2.  Bobby Giffin # 97
3.  Tony Martin # 35
4.  Jason Welshan # 29
5.  Drew Kennedy # K37
6.  Levi Hicks # 4h
7.  Butch Bayless # B2
8.  Mitchell Childress # 2
9.  Lynn Leach # 22
10.  Jason Manley # 32

Did Not Start:  James Kelso (49)


1.  Charlie Bates # 27
2.  Jon Cook # 0z
3.  Charles Tooney # 17
4.  Ben Sexton # 6
5.  Chad McLemore # 3
6.  Kaleb Trent # 3
7.  Jeff McLemore # J3
8.  Chuck Killian # 96
9.  Shane Taylor # 37
10.  Rodney Murphy # 411
11.  Rick Webb # 00

Did Not Start:  Ty Crisp (T11), Larry Rudd (88)


Billy Ogle Jr Dominates Rockin’ With the Stars Smoky Mt Southern All Star Event


MARYVILLE, TN—The Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series returned to the Smoky Mt Speedway in Maryville, TN., Saturday night and local favorite Billy Ogle Jr of Knoxville, TN., put on dominating performance for the night as he sat fast time in White Performance qualifying and then lead 39 of the 40 lap event en route to the $5,000 to win paycheck.


Ogle along with outside pole sitter Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC., brought the field to the green for the initial start of the race, but as the field headed down the backstretch, midway through the field in turn three the cars of Tommy Kerr and Josh Putnam got together with Putnam cutting across the infield through the go kart track and Kerr flipping his car over.  Putnam was able to continue but Kerr was done for the night.


The next start saw Cook get a slight jump ahead of Ogle on the start and Cook lead lap one but Ogle moved under him in turns one and two and then proceeded to stay up front and work lapped traffic with ease to get his 12th career series win.  Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN., came home in second spot, who made a late race charge from his ninth starting spot to get by Cook, who fell back to third and blew a tire as he came across the finish line, fourth place went to point leader Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, TN., and fifth place was Dylan Ames of Harvest, AL., in his best career finish with the series.


Chad Ogle came home in the sixth spot from the 12th starting spot, seventh to David Payne, eighth Mark Douglas from 13th starting spot, ninth Josh Putnam and tenth Todd Morrow.

The 2011 Southern All Star Champion, Ogle was driving a Blount Motorsport Rocket with a Vic Hill Racing Engine.


PPM Race Products B Main Winners: Mike Marlar; Skip Arp

AR Bodies Last Car Lead Lap: Mark Douglas


OFFICIAL FINISH SMOKY MT SPEEDWAY: 1.Billy Ogle Jr; 2.Mike Marlar; 3.Ray Cook; 4.Riley Hickman; 5.Dylan Ames; 6.Chad Ogle; 7.David Payne; 8.Mark Douglas; 9.Josh Putnam; 10.Todd Morrow; 11.Jeff Wolfenbarger; 12.Bo Shirley; 13.Robby Moses; 14.Jeff Franklin; 15.Sammie Russell 16.Dusty Carver; 17.Lavon Sparks; 18.Randy Weaver; 19.Skylar Marlar; 20.Skip Arp; 21.Jason Welshan; 22.Stacy Boles; 23.Chris Wilson; 24.Tommy Kerr

For more information on the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series can be obtained by calling General Manager Lynn Acklin at (256)  or you can log on to the official series website at . Also, LIKE the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series on Facebook or be a FOLLOWER on Twitter @SASDIRT.

Current Southern All Star Racing Series Top Ten Point Standings: 1.Riley Hickman 288; 2.Dylan Ames 240; 3.Bo Shirley 232; 4.Josh Putnam 232; 5.Chris Wilson 218; 6.Jason Hiett 190; 7.Billly Ogle Jr 178; 8.Joe Armistead 172; 9.Todd Morrow 170; 10.David Payne 170


Cruise With the Champions/ Rookie of the Year Point Standings: 1.Chris Wilson 76; 2.Dylam Ames 74; 3.Cale Finley 69; 4.Mark Gant 68


Southern All Star Racing Series 2014 Event Winners:

March 22-Riley Hickman-Boyd’s Speedway

March 29-Joe Armistead-East Alabama Motor Speedway

April 26-Billy Ogle Jr-Smoky Mt Speedway


Upcoming Southern All Star Racing Series Events:

Sat May 3-Talladega Short Track-Eastaboga, AL-$4,000

Sat May 17-Waycross Motor Speedway-Waycross, GA-$4,000


2014 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Sponsors:

*Hoosier Racing Tire “The Official Race Tire” of the Southern All Star Racing Series *Patriot Sports “The Official Merchandise Vendor” of the Southern All Star Racing Series *Sunoco Race Fuel “The Official Racing Fuel” of the Southern All Star Racing Series


2014 Southern All Star Racing Series Marketing Partners Include: AR Bodies, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Butlerbuilt Racing Seats,  Cruise with the Champions,, H3 Performance Graphics, Integra Racing Shocks, , MSR Mafia Web Design and Service, PPM Racing Products,, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil by Ed Lowe, The Joie of Seating,


-Southern All Star Racing Series -P.O. Box 189-Fayetteville, Tennessee  37334-