3rd Annual Triple Crown at Smoky Mountain on November 2nd/$3,000 to win SRRS Late Models

COURTESY: Chris Tilley/CT Promotions & Marketing
CONTACT: (606) 219-1723 or

MARYVILLE, TN (October 28, 2013)—The third Annual Triple Crown will go at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, TN on Saturday evening November 2nd for the track’s season-ending event. This will mark the 11th Super Late Model event of the season for the track and all three Late Model classes will race Topless that night.

The program for the night will feature a complete show of practice, Qualifying, Heat Races, the Dash and main event for the Southern Regional Racing Series-sanctioned Topless race paying $3,000 to win / $300 to start. The Limited Late Models will also race Topless for $2,000 to win, the Crate Late Models will race Topless for $1,000 to win while the Street Stocks will race for $1,000 to win (based on 15 or more).

After ten events this season at Smoky Mountain Speedway, there have been eight different winners with the most recent winners being Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA on October 25th ($2,000) and Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN on October 26th ($10,000). In SRRS action, there have been nine different winners in 11 races with Josh Putnam of Florence, AL leading the series points with just 55 markers over Maryville, TN driver Jason Welshan. The rest of the top-five in series points are Ryan King third, Brad Skinner fourth and Riley Hickman fifth. The SRRS has two events remaining on the schedule, November 2nd at Smoky Mountain Speedway and November 9th at Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, GA.

Activities for the special Saturday November 2nd Triple Crown event will see the pit area open at 2:00 p.m., while the general admission and tier parking areas will open at 3:00 p.m.  The driver’s meeting will take place at 5:30 p.m., with practice laps set to begin at 5:45 p.m., followed immediately by time trials and green flag racing.  Tickets prices for the Triple Crown event on November 2nd in the general admission area will be $20 for adults, children ages 6 to 11 will be $5, and children ages 5 and under will be free.  In tier parking, ticket prices will be $25 for adults, children ages 6 to 11 will be $10, while children ages 5 and under will be free.  For the pit area, a pit pass will be $35 for adults, while children ages 11 and under will be $15. Track t-shirts will be specially marked for the season finale (while supplies last, limited supply) at $10.00 per shirt, $15.00 for Long-sleeve shirts and $20.00 for Hoodies.

Southern Regional Racing Series Purse ($3,000-to-win): 1) $3,000; 2) $1,500; 3) $900; 4) $800; 5) $700; 6) $600; 7) $575; 8) $550; 9) $525; 10) $500; 11) $400; 12) $390; 13) $380; 14) $470; 15) $360; 16) $350; 17) $340; 18) $330; 19) $320; 20) $310; 21) $300; 22) $300; 23) $300; 24) $300

Racing action for Smoky Mountain Speedway includes the hosting of other special events throughout the 2013 season including: Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series, Ray Cook’s Spring Nationals Series, Ray Cook’s Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series, American Modified Series, World of Outlaws Late Model Series, United Sprint Car Series, Southern Regional Racing Series and the Ultimate Late Models.

The Smoky Mountain Speedway is located at 809 Brickmill Road in Maryville, TN 37801. The track phone number is (865) 856-8989. You can obtain further information on Smoky Mountain Speedway by logging on to . Be a follower of Smoky Mountain Speedway on Twitter by following @SMOKYMTNSPEED.

For more information on the Southern Regional Racing Series, log on to .

2013 Smoky Mountain Speedway Winners:
1. Jonathan Davenport-3/23-Southern All Stars Series
2. Tommy Kerr-4/13-Ray Cook’s Spring Nationals Series
3. Shane Clanton-4/26-World of Outlaws Late Model Series
4. Dillon Wood-5/25-Ultimate Super Late Model Series
5. Chris Madden-6/15-Southern All Stars Series
6. Ray Cook-6/29-Southern Regional Racing Series
7. Chris Madden-7/26-Ray Cook’s Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series
8. Billy Ogle Jr.-9/13-Southern Regional Racing Series
9. Jonathan Davenport-10/25-TN State Championship un-sanctioned
10. Mike Marlar-10/26-Southern All Stars Series TN State Championship

Southern Regional Racing Series Championship Points (after 10/5/13):
1. Josh Putnam-2,010 (Florence, AL)
2. Jason Welshan-1,955 (Maryville, TN)
3. Ryan King-1,635 (Seymour, TN)
4. Brad Skinner-1,325 (Springhill, TN)
5. Riley Hickman-1,150 (Chattanooga, TN)
6. Mark Fields-755 (Lawrenceburg, TN)
7. Skylar Marlar-720 (Winfield, TN)
8. Ray Cook-645 (Brasstown, NC)
9. Tony Morris-625 (Murfreesboro, TN)
10. Scott Cook-590 (Shelbyville, TN)

2013 Southern Regional Racing Series Winners/Remaining Schedule:
2/9-MICHAEL PAGE (Boyd’s Speedway)
5/24-RILEY HICKMAN (Thunderhill Raceway)
5/25-DANE DACUS (TN National Raceway)
6/15-JACKIE BOGGS (201 Speedway)
6/22-CHAD OGLE (Volunteer Speedway)
6/27-RAY COOK (Duck River Raceway Park)
6/28-JOSH PUTNAM (Boyd’s Speedway)
6/29-RAY COOK (Smoky Mtn. Speedway)
8/23-RANDY WEAVER (Boyd’s Speedway)
9/13-BILLY OGLE JR. (Smoky Mtn. Speedway)
10/5-JOSH PUTNAM (Duck River Raceway Park)
11/2-SMOKY MTN SPEEDWAY $3,000 to win
11/9-BOYD’s SPEEDWAY $3,000 to win