Smoky Mountain Speedway hosts the return of Schaeffer’s Spring Nationals on Saturday, April 13. The Smoky Mountain Spring Showdown will showcase the super late models racing for $10,000 to win in a one-night show.


The Schaeffer’s Spring Nationals is a min-series that runs through the spring months across the Southeast. Dale McDowell currently leads the series point standings over Donald McIntosh. Ashton Winger sits third in points followed by Michael Page and John Henderson.


Other expected drivers include Chris Ferguson, Vic Hill, Tommy Kerr, Robby Moses, David Crabtree, Bobby Giffin, Michael Chilton, Chicky Barton, and more.


The American Crate All-Stars Series will make their Smoky Mountain Speedway debut for a $2,000 to win race on April 13. Also on the program is a sportsman late model race for $800 to win.


During the intermission, there will be wheelbarrow races for the fans on the track’s front straightaway. Competitors will consist of a two-person team, one person pushing and the other person riding in the wheelbarrow. There will be heat races to narrow down the teams for the final race. The winning team will receive $200, second place will get $100, and the third place team will get $50. The track will provide wheelbarrows.


Pit gates open at 2:00 and all other gates open at 4:00. The drivers meeting is set for 6:00 with hot laps beginning at 6:30.


Grandstand tickets are $25 for adults. Kids and under are free. Tier parking is $30 for adults. Kids 11 and under are free. Pit passes are $35, kids 11 and under are $15.


Smoky Mountain Speedway is located 12 miles south of Maryville, Tennessee. From Maryville, take Highway 411 south for 10 miles and turn left onto Brick Mill Road. Follow Brick Mill Road for approximately 2 miles, the racetrack is on the right. The first entrance is for grandstand parking. The second entrance is for tier parking and campground access. The pit entrance is the next right on Crye Road.


Smoky Mountain Speedway Purse (50 laps):
1) $10,000, 2) $5,000, 3) $2,500, 4) $2,000, 5) $1,500, 6) $1,100, 7) $1,000, 8) $950, 9) $900, 10) $850, 11) $800, 12) $750, 13) $650, 14) $600, 15) $550, 16) $530, 17) $520, 18) $500, 19) $500, 20) $500, 21) $500, 22) $500.


Current Schaeffer’s Spring Nationals Series Points (after Round Four on March 30)
1. Dale McDowell-786
2. Donald McIntosh-760
3. Ashton Winger-744
4. Michael Page-732
5. John Henderson-694
6. Austin Horton-554
7. Ivedent Lloyd, Jr.-542
8. Casey Roberts-540
9. Tyler Millwood-508
10. Jimmy Owens-384


For additional information, contact the speedway at 865-856-8989 or visit