Smoky Mountain Speedway has announced the hall of fame class for 2016.


The Smoky Mountain Speedway Hall of Fame picked up where the Atomic Speedway Hall of Fame left off in 2006. Anyone from either of those tracks were under consideration by the voting committee.


As in the past, nominees were broken down into three different categories: drivers, contributors, and those from the track’s asphalt era.


This year’s class for the driver category is Lamar Winkle, Marion Tipton, and Snook Defoor. There were an unusually high number of nominees in the contributor category, so two nominees were elected. Those are Connie Boring and Larry Jones. The asphalt era inductee is Randy Bethea.


Each one will be inducted at a ceremony on Saturday, September 19 during the intermission of the Southern All-Stars event at Smoky Mountain Speedway. Each new inductee will shortly receive a letter acknowledging their induction and information about the ceremony on Sept. 19.


Plans are also in the works to have a number of past inductees at the track to meet and greet fans. More details on the ceremony will be released leading up to the event.