Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Make First-Ever Visit to Smoky Mountain June 21st


By Chris Tilley


MARYVILLE, TN (June 11, 2014)—On Saturday Night June 21st, the Smoky Mountain Speedway will welcome the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series for their first-ever visit paying $10,000-to-win.


Along with the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, the Crate Late Models will race for $1,500 to win along with $500 to win for the Street Stock division. This event is presented by FireAde.


There have been four Super Late Model events held already at Smoky Mountain Speedway with three different winners gracing victory lane as Dale McDowell picked up the $7,500 NDRL-sanctioned win on March 7 then Chris Madden picked up the night two victory worth $12,500 on March 8. Billy Ogle Jr. scored the $6,000 prize in the Old Man’s Garage Spring Nationals Series-sanctioned event win on April 5th while Ogle again took the payday, this time $5,000 during the SAS-Rockin’ with the Stars event on April 26th.


The stars of the LOLMDS that will be in action at Smoky Mountain include: Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, Fla., Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.V., Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky., John Blankenship of Williamson, W.V., Jared Landers of Batesville, Ark., Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., Jason Hughes of Watts, Ok. and Jason Papich of Nipomo, Cal.


The Pits open at Noon on Saturday June 21st with the stands & tier parking opening at 3:00 pm and the driver’s meeting is slated for 7:00 pm. Adult general admission is $25.00 with adult tier parking being $30.00 and adult pit passes being $40.00.


Racing action for Smoky Mountain Speedway includes the hosting of other special events throughout the 2014 season including: Ray Cook’s Old Man’s Garage Spring Nationals Series, Ray Cook’s Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series, American Modified Series, World of Outlaws Late Model Series, United Sprint Car Series, Ultimate Super Late Model Series, Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, National Dirt Racing League and the Southern All Stars Series.


For further information on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log on to . In addition to the Saturday June 21st event at Smoky Mountain, the LOLMDS will kick-off the Southeast swing with a visit to Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, S.C. for the 16th Annual Grassy Smith Memorial race paying $10,000-to-win on Friday Night June 20th.


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series/$10,000 to win Purse 1) $10000, 2) $5500, 3) $3500, 4) $2750, 5) $2250, 6) $1800, 7) $1500, 8) $1300, 9) $1200, 10) $1100, 11) $1075, 12) $1050, 13) $1025, 14) $1000, 15) $950, 16) $925, 17) $900, 18) $875, 19) $850, 20) $825, 21) $800, 22) $800, 23) $800, 24) $800.


The Tire Rule for the June 21st LOLMDS race is as follows: Left Rear/Fronts: Hoosier Rib 1300, 1350; Right Rear: Hoosier 01, 03, 05, LM30S.


The Smoky Mountain Speedway is located at 809 Brickmill Road in Maryville, TN 37801. The track phone number is (865) 856-8989. You can obtain further information on Smoky Mountain Speedway by logging on to . Be a follower of Smoky Mountain Speedway on Twitter by following @SMOKYMTNSPEED.


Upcoming Smoky Mountain Speedway Events:

Saturday June 21-Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series/$10,000 to win

Friday July 11-Ultimate Super Late Model Series/Firecracker 500/$5,000 to win

Friday August 1-Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series by O.M.G./$5,300 to win


Smoky Mountain Speedway would like to thank the following track partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts, Blount Excavating , Bobcat of Knoxville, CDE Electrical Contracting , East Tennessee Auto Outlet, FireAde, Food City, Hoosier Dirt Tire South, Hooters, Insane Cane Media,, Jet’s Pizza, MRM Racing Photos, Napa Auto Parts, Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine, Outdoor Life R.V., Stanley Best Heating & Air,, Tennessee R.V. Sales & Service,, Wells Racing Photography, WIMZ Classic Rock 103.5 FM.