As of last night, the 2016 racing season at Smoky Mountain Speedway is history! and what a year it has been! Two of the largest crowds in track history – with the Tennessee Tipoff Classic in March and the Lucas Oil Mountain Moonshine Classic in July! The largest winner’s purse ($15,000) under the current ownership team was paid out to Scott Bloomquist in March. We are certainly proud of the things that were accomplished in 2016; our promise to you is that we will continue to try to put together races that entertain! We also understand that we could not do ANY of this without each and every race fan that chose to support us! Every race team (drivers, owners, crew members) that chose to enter the pit gates at SMS in 2016… Let us offer – a sincere THANK YOU for allowing us to do what we do.

Also to our sanctioning bodies, Ray Cook’s Spring Nationals, Ultimate Super Late Model Series, United Crate Racing Alliance, Southern All Stars, USCS Sprint Cars, World of Outlaws Late Model Series, Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, Ray Cook’s Southern Nationals, Southern Nationals Bonus Series. Thank you for believing in Smoky Mountain Speedway enough to help us put on some of the greatest shows on dirt!

Also to our track sponsors – Thank you for supporting us – Stanley Best Heating & Air, Tennessee RV Sales & Service, Blount Excavating, CDE Electrical Contracting, WIMZ 103.5 FM, Food City, East Tennessee Auto Outlet, Jet’s Pizza, Hooters, Napa Auto Parts, Tyler Brothers Farm Equipment, Hard Rock CafĂ©, Hoosier Tire South, American Racer Tires, West Haven Speed Equipment.

Also our 2016 SMS Hall of Fame Inductees – Jimmy Monroe, Danny Glass, Bud Lunsford, Harley “Fuzzy” Orange, and Paul Lewis. Congratulations to all of you! Thanks to all of our past inductees for helping make last night special by signing autographs and meeting our great fans! A big thank you to Michael Moats, Chris Corum, and everyone that helped put this Hall of Fame event together.

Last, but certainly, not least… Our Smoky Mountain Speedway track staff – THANK YOU for your dedication to SMS! Our track officials, admission gate workers, concession stand staff, t-shirt vendors, etc. – we could not even get started putting together a racing season without each and everyone of you!

With every end; there is a new beginning around the corner. The 2017 race schedule will start coming together soon. Keep up with us on Facebook as well as our website for exciting details about 2017. We will see everyone in March 2017 for the 4th annual Tennessee Tipoff Classic!!!


Roger Sellers, Stanley Best, Larry Garner, Kevin Coffey
SMS ownership group

Casey Moses & Dustin Dunlap
SMS management and promotional team