Randy Weaver Goes the Distance in Ultimate Series Action at Smoky Mountain



Randy Weaver Goes the Distance in Ultimate Series Action at Smoky Mountain


By Chris Tilley

Smoky Mountain Speedway


MARVILLE, TN (July 11, 2014)—Smoky Mountain Speedway would host the Ultimate Super Late Model Series for the annual Firecracker 5000 presented by Tennessee R.V. Sales & Service Super Center and Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn. would claim the $5,000 payday tonight for his first-career Ultimate Series victory. Other event winners would be Jason Welshan of Maryville, Tenn. in the Crate Late Models, Jordan Horton of Sneedville, Tenn. in the Sportsman division feature and Nick Perry of Lenoir City, Tenn. in the Mini Stock A-Main.


Weaver rolled to victory while driving the Outlaw Race Parts, The Bailey Company, Precision One Trailer Parts and V.P. Racing Fuels sponsored Cornett Racing Engines powered Longhorn Chassis in his third outing in the new chassis.


“I can’t thank my sponsors enough, with this new Longhorn Chassis, Matt’s here tonight helping all three of us up there. A lot of good fans around here that support me and I love this race track, they’ve worked their tails off and got it pretty racy, it’s just good for the year I’ve had, it’s really good to be here and let alone win the race, that race car is really good,” exclaimed an excited Weaver in a rare press box victory lane interview.


Weaver attributes his success on the track tonight in thanks mostly to Longhorn Chassis. “We’ve set fast time either overall or in our group all three times and we ran second once and got in a little wreck once, those guys they have a good program going, I appreciate their help definitely want to thank Linda Cheek and all of that family that have supported me for years and I can’t thank them enough,” Weaver went on to say.


Randy Weaver and Jason Welshan brought the field of 24 to life for the start of the 50-lapper and Welshan would grab the point on the outside until the first caution would fly in turn two before a lap was complete. The trio of Anthony Burroughs, Danny Yoder and Jonathan Edwards would spin in turn two on the first yellow flag.


On the next try at a start, Weaver would get a good jump entering turn one and grab the lead on the opening lap with Welshan, Vic Hill, Dennis Franklin and Chris Ferguson in hot pursuit at the line. The next yellow would wave on lap five as Danny Yoder would slam the turn two wall.


On the restart, Casey Roberts would be the quick mover as he came from the sixth spot and would grab two spots down the back chute and hold the fourth spot on the next circuit.


The yellow flag would again wave on the eighth lap as Cory Hedgecock, who was making his first Super Late Model start, spun to the inside of turn two.


By this point, Weaver had stretched his lead to about ten car lengths in distance but on the restart, carnage would ensue as contact between Hill and Roberts coming off of turn two brought out the first red flag as seven cars piled up behind them on the back chute.


By the 12th circuit, as Weaver stretched out his lead, 11th starting Skip Arp would make his presence on the outside line known as he would begin to challenge for the fifth spot and duke it out with Franklin until a lap 17 yellow flag put Arp and Franklin side-by-side for the double-file restart as Arp would grab the spot on the last completed lap. Doug Sanders would bring out the yellow flag by slowing in turn two.


By the halfway point, Weaver would continue to show the way on the high-side with Welshan second, Hill third, Roberts fourth and Arp fifth. On the 31st lap, Welshan brought the Warrior House Car to the infield after dropping a solid line of oil on the bottom line. The yellow would wave directly after that as Jeff Smith brought his mount to a stop in turn four on lap 31 after he started 23rd and had worked his way to the ninth position.


On lap 33, fourth place driver Arp slowed going into turn one as Jeff Smith would also have a right-rear flat tire sending him to the work area.


On the restart Roberts rolled his Longhorn Chassis to the second spot around Vic Hill and then the next lap the yellow would fly as Kennie Compton Jr. and Bobby Giffin collected each-other on the back-chute.


Weaver would lead flag-to-flag for the $5,000 victory over Roberts, Hill, Billy Ogle Jr. and Franklin.


Official Summary of Results

Ultimate Super Late Model Series

Smoky Mountain Speedway-Maryville, TN

Friday Night July 11, 2014


Ultimate Super Late Model Feature Finish presented by Tennessee R.V.

1. Randy Weaver

2. Casey Roberts

3. Vic Hill

4. Billy Ogle Jr.

5. Dennis Franklin

6. Tommy Kerr

7. Bobby Giffin

8. Anthony Burroughs

9. Mark Vineyard

10. Jeff Smith

11. Jonathan Edwards

12. Brian Ledbetter

13. Kennie Compton Jr.

14. Skip Arp

15. Jason Welshan

16. Dusty Carver

17. Doug Sanders

18. Chad Ogle

19. Chris Ferguson

20. Cory Hedgecock

21. Aaron Ridley

22. David Payne

23. Danny Yoder

24. Mark Douglas


Time of Race: One hour, 11 minutes, 34 seconds.

Margin of Victory: 00.063 seconds

Yellow Flags: Eight (Laps 0, 5, 8, 8RS, 17, 31, 33, 36)

Red Flags: One (lap 8)

Lap Leaders: Weaver (1-50)

Provisional Starters: Jeff Smith and Brian Ledbetter

Entries: 32

Fastest Qualifier: Randy Weaver-15.881 seconds


Hoosier Racing Tire B-Main No. 1 Finish (6 laps, top 6 transfer): Skip Arp, David Payne, Anthony Burroughs, Danny Yoder, Jonathan Edwards, Bobby Giffin, Jeff Smith, Kevin Wilson, Ellery Leake, Robby Moses, Hunter Best.


American Race Tires B-Main No. 2 Finish (6 laps, top 6 transfer): Tommy Kerr, Aaron Ridley, Mark Vineyard, Dusty Carver, Mark Douglas, Doug Sanders, Brian Ledbetter, Jaylon Shannon, Benji Shaw, Stacy Boles, Brad Hall.


V.P. Race Fuels Super Late Model Qualifying:

1. 116-Randy Weaver/Crossville, Tenn. 15.881

2. 1g-Jason Welshan/Maryville, Tenn. 16.481

3. 1-Vic Hill/Mosheim, Tenn. 16.516

4. 2-Dennis Franklin/Gaffney, S.C. 16.531

5. 22-Chris Ferguson/Mt. Holly, N.C. 16.597

6. 101-Casey Roberts/Toccoa, Ga. 16.622

7. 10-Kennie Compton Jr./Bland, Va. 16.641

8. 201-Billy Ogle Jr./Knoxville, Tenn. 16.656

9. 10-Chad Ogle/Sevierville, Tenn. 16.708

10. 23-Cory Hedgecock/Loudon, Tenn. 16.762

11. 31-Skip Arp/Georgetown, Tenn. 16.820

12. 4t-Tommy Kerr/Maryville, Tenn. 16.828

13. 1-Anthony Burroughs/Minden, La. 16.938

14. 81-Aaron Ridley/Chatsworth, Ga. 17.010

15. 8-David Payne/Murphy, N.C. 17.051

16. 9-Dusty Carver/Englewood, Tenn. 17.066

17. 32-Jonathan Edwards/Clover, S.C. 17.115

18. 4-Mark Vineyard/Powell, Tenn. 17.119

19. 2-Danny Yoder/Knoxville, Tenn. 17.123

20. 11-Stacy Boles/Clinton, Tenn. 17.140

21. 34-Ellery Leake/Knoxville, Tenn. 17.190

22. 52-Mark Douglas/Knoxville, Tenn. 17.214

23. 00-Jeff Smith/Dallas, N.C. 17.330

24. 47-Brad Hall/Knoxville, Tenn. 17.331

25. 97-Bobby Giffin/Maryville, Tenn. 17.543

26. 42-Doug Sanders/Springwood, N.C. 17.573

27. 618-Kevin Wilson/Stoneville, N.C. 17.613

28. 22-Jayon Shannon/Wartburg, Tenn. 17.710

29. 7-Robby Moses/Friendsville, Tenn. 17.790

30. 07-Brian Ledbetter/Dallas, N.C. 17.864

31. 007-Hunter Best/Maryville, Tenn. 18.354

32. 18-Benji Shaw/Tellico Plains, Tenn. 19.152


Crate Late Model Feature Finish: Jason Welshan, Brandon Williams, Adam Beeler, Greg Martin, Justin Summers, Tanner Works, Warren McMahan, Robert Edwards, Greg Huskey, Brian Courtney, Chad Beeler, Todd Brooks, Brett Wyatt, Deke Waters, Hunter Best, Anthony White, Brad Seagle.


Sportsman Feature Finish: Jordan Horton, Terry Poore, Chase King, Zach Shannon, Tony Shannon, Ryan Carey, James Kelso, Joe Crabtree, Joe Freels, Tony Lindsey, Leigh Bivens, Josh Beal, Chris Whitted, Justin Beeler, Brianna Kyle.


Mini Stock Feature Finish: Nick Perry, Kyle Courtney, Jacob Sharp, William Tallent, Frankie Huskey, Nathan Adams, Bobby Reichert, Allen Collins, Debbie Singleton, Bryant Idles, Nicholas Shelton, Michel Herron, Gavin Murphy, Marty Phillips, Ray Simpson.