Hall of Fame Rules Points Results Schedule Home Contact Track Info Delph Communications Follow Us on Twitter! Like Us on Facebook! Visit Our Instagram Page!

Twitter Facebook Instagram Click for Driver Registration Form!
Hall of FameHomeScheduleResultsPointsRulesTrack InfoContact
Live Stream

Owens Holds Off Challengers for Smoky Mountain Showdown Win!

(September 2, 2022) Jimmy Owens has been tough to be in World of Outlaws Case Construction Late Model Series competition at Smoky Mountain Speedway. He held off some late challenges in a return trip to victory lane. (MRM Racing Photo)

Owens started the 40-lap race from the pole position by virtue of the redraw for the first 3 rows. Chris Ferguson would start alongside on the outside pole. As the race went green, Owens wasted no time in taking the lead. Shane Clanton battled Ferguson for second and would take the spot going down the backstretch.

Following a caution on lap 2, the battle for second through fifth continued as Clanton held off Ferguson to maintain second while Hudson O’Neal and Cory Hedgecock battled for fourth. O’Neal would take third, then track down Ferguson in a battle for third. O’Neal would take third a few laps later and Hedgecock tried to take fourth from Ferguson.

A caution on lap 15 would re-rack the field. As Owens retained the lead back under green. O’Neal used the high line to take second from Clanton. Hedgecock took fourth from Ferguson. Dennis Erb Jr. got by Tanner English for sixth.

As the leader maneuvered through slower traffic, O’Neal caught Owens and pressured him for the lead. O’Neal would close in on the back bumper of Owens. As O’Neal continued to pressure Owens, the right, read hub broke off O’Neal machine to bring out the caution on lap 30. With O’Neal and Clanton out that moved Ferguson into second and Erb Jr. into third.

Over the final 10 laps, Ferguson got within a few car lengths of Owens, but could not get close enough to mount a challenge. Owens went on to win the race. Ferguson was second and Max Blair made a late pass on Erb Jr. to finish in third.

The sportsman feature saw Jake Whitehead and Tyler Price start on the front row. Whitehead held off Price on the opening laps to take the lead. Jed Emert closed in on Price to battle for second. Price would later retire from the race. A late restart was Brad Seagle take second from Emert. Neither driver could chase down Whitehead who won comfortably over Seagle.

The mini stocks once again provided more excitement for their 20-lap race.Derik Duggan edged Shane Bullock for the pole position and collected the $100 bonus. But it was Bullock who grabbed the lead at the start of the race. Duggan applied pressure on Bullock as Larry Housley and Michael Courtney battled for third. A caution on lap 8 bunched up the field. Duggan tried to get by Bullock on the restart. Bullock held off Duggan and pulled away to a several car length advantage. A late caution allowed Duggan to mount one more challenge. Duggan and Bullock exchanged slide jobs before Duggan finally took control of the race and take the win. Bullock was second and Jeremy Davis rallied to finish third.

Case Construction Feature (40 Laps): 1. 20-Jimmy Owens[1]; 2. 22-Chris Ferguson[2]; 3. 111V-Max Blair[11]; 4. 28-Dennis Erb Jr[10]; 5. 19R-Ryan Gustin[6]; 6. 23-Cory Hedgecock[5]; 7. 81E-Tanner English[9]; 8. 1-Josh Richards[12]; 9. 99B-Boom Briggs[17]; 10. 76-Brandon Overton[21]; 11. F1-Payton Freeman[14]; 12. B1-Brent Larson[20]; 13. 995-Dwight Falcon[22]; 14. 28P-Taylor Pucket[16]; 15. 71-Hudson O'Neal[8]; 16. 25-Shane Clanton[3]; 17. 23B-John Blankenship[13]; 18. 116-Cameron Weaver[15]; 19. 16-Sam Seawright[19]; 20. 7-Ricky Weiss[4]; 21. 31-Skip Arp[18]; 22. 17M-Dale McDowell[7]

Sportsman Late Models

A Feature 1 (25 Laps): 1. 116-Jake Whitehead[1]; 2. 31-Brad Seagle[4]; 3. 98-Jed Emert[3]; 4. 50-Adam Mitchell[6]; 5. 55-Duke Lowe[8]; 6. (DNF) 22-Jaylon Shannon[5]; 7. (DNF) 27-Cameron Hawkins[7]; 8. (DNF) 09-Chris Lewis[9]; 9. (DNF) 7-Tyler Price[2]

Mini Stocks

A Feature 1 (20 Laps): 1. 25-Derik Duggan[1]; 2. 2B-SHANE BULLOCK[2]; 3. D3-Jeremy Davis[6]; 4. D1-Nathan Davis[5]; 5. 46-Ricky Harmon[8]; 6. 44-Cordell Collins[10]; 7. (DNF) 30-Larry Housley[4]; 8. (DNF) 25G-Gracie Duggan[9]; 9. (DNF) C11-Michael Courtney[3]; 10. (DNF) 25S-Brian Smith[11]; 11. (DNF) 12-Dustin Stephens[7]




Click for Our Live Streamed Events!

Delph Communications Twitter Facebook Instagram
HomeScheduleResultsPointsRulesTrack InfoContact
Hall of Fame

Click for Our Live Streamed Events! Hall of Fame Track Info Rules Points Results Schedule Home Contact Follow Us on Twitter! Like Us on Facebook! Visit Our Instagram Page!